top of page

Local Schools​

Mingo County is home to six public K-8 schools, two public high schools, and Southern WV Community and Technical College.

Mingo Central Comprehensive High School

Mingo Central Comprehensive High School is located along the King Coal Highway, and is the result of the consolidation of four local schools.  The AA school is housed in an complex which received an Honor Award for Excellence in Architecture by the American Institute of Architects.  The school consists of a two-story academic wing, a music/theater wing, two gymnasiums, a cafeteria, and a Career and Technical Education wing. Click here for more.

Tug Valley High School

Tug Valley High School was opened in 1987 as a consolidation of Lenore High School and Kermit High School.  The single A school is located in Den's Branch at Naugatuck, WV.  It originally was designed with two floors with 25 classrooms, a 400 seat auditorium, a state of the art library, a modern gymnasium with a mezzanine, a cafeteria/commons area designed to seat 350... Click here for more.

Southern West Virginia Community and Technical College

Southern West Virginia Community and Technical College provides accessible, affordable, quality education and training. As a comprehensive community and technical college, Southern is committed to providing... Click here for more.

Mingo County Board of Education


Superintendent:  Don Spence

Phone Number:  (304) 235-3333

bottom of page