top of page

Office Staff


Leasha Johnson, Executive Director

Johnson was appointed to the position of Executive Director on January 1, 2015. She has been employed by the Authority since 2004.  Johnson is a 1988 graduate of West Virginia University where she earned a Bachelor of Science Degree in Business Administration.  She is a member of the Southern Economic Development Council and a member of the WV Economic Development Council board of directors.  She is a member of the Hatfield-McCoy Regional Recreation Authority board of directors, and the Vice Chair of the Williamson Health and Wellness Center board of directors.  She also serves as a board member for the Coalfield Community Action Partnership, Williamson Memorial Hospital, and Turnrow Farm Collective.  She is a member of the Tug Valley Chamber of Commerce, and she was an ex-officio member of the Corridor G Regional Development Authority board of directors.

Greta Curry, Deputy Executive Director

Curry was hired to the position of Deputy Executive Director on January 14, 2019.  She is a 2005 graduate of Eastern Kentucky University where she earned a Bachelor of Science Degree, and in 2008, she received a Master's Degree from Lindsey Wilson College.  Prior to joining the Authority, she worked as a Business Outreach Specialist for the Robert C. Byrd Institute (RCBI) under the Appalachian Hatchery Initiative, which focused on creating jobs by delivering local technical assistance to manufacturers and new training opportunities across southern West Virginia.  She also previously served as the Human Resource Manager for Mohawk Industries in Holden, WV.  Curry serves as a board member for Blue Acre Appalachian Aquaponics; she is a member of the Tug Valley Chamber of Commerce, and she currently serves on Mingo Central High School's Project Lead The Way Advisory Committee.

Priscilla Reed, Accounts Payable Clerk


Donna Sizemore, Secretary

In Memory of Mike Whitt,

On November 24th, 2011, Mingo County lost a great visionary, and West Virginia lost a champion for the people. Mike Whitt was the first and only Executive Director of the Mingo County Redevelopment Authority until his passing. The Redevelopment Authority lost a dear friend, and we are all privileged to have known him and to have worked with him toward making Mingo County a better place.  Whether serving as a public school teacher, working in the mining industry, serving in the House of Delegates or working on economic development projects, Mike’s passion for southern West Virginia was perpetuated by the success of countless development projects and partnerships that he so delicately pioneered.

bottom of page